Finally! A Finish!

Another Hatchett Job blog, photo by Jan Hatchett, scarf, sewing, quilting, crafts, Moda Bake Shop
Scarf from Moda Bake Shop pattern

Dont’cha just love this scarf?  It’s the perfect blend of cozy flannel and lovely patchwork.  Here is another photo of my friend, Beverly, modeling it after she recieved it as a

Another Hatchett Job blog, frugal gifts, sewing, quilting, scarf
Bev in her new scarf

birthday gift a year or so ago.  I loved it so much that I made another for my Mom.  She loved hers, too.  I even took some scraps and an old piece of minky backing and got it all ready to sew up to have one myself…but I never got around to sewing it.  In fact, I had forgotten all about it.

That’s probably why I found it earlier this week, still pinned together.

So, even though I haven’t been sewing much lately, I just HAD to finish this scarf.  Right?

Here she is, all warm and super cozy, made entirely with leftovers from other projects.  Beauty from chaos.  I kind of like that!

Another Hatchett Job, photo by Jan Hatchett, scarf, Moda Bake Shop, quick sewing projects, crafts, sewing
Close up view of patchwork and “dotted” minky back.

The pattern for this project is from the Moda Bake Shop website.  Here is the tutorial I used.  These are absolutely easy to make and are a great gift item.  With Christmas coming, this is a good project to try.  It can elevate a beginning seamstress

Another Hatchett Job, photo by Jan Hatchett, Moda Bake Shop, quick sewing projects, sewing, crafts, patchwork
A scarf for me!

by giving her a scarf that finishes up much nicer than the title of

“beginner” would imply!

As the weather forecasters are telling us that a “polar vortex” is coming our way next week, I will be happy to snuggle in my new scarf, pondering new gifty goodness to

make!

Another Hatchett Job, Jan Hatchett, blogger, writer
I love wearing my new scarf!

Do you make any or all of your Christmas gifts?  What was your favorite?

Till next time,

Another Hatchett Job blog, signature, Jan Hatchett

2 thoughts on “Finally! A Finish!

Leave a Reply

